My Man Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse – Something to Read When I Can Not Sleep.

My sleep disorder has gotten rather unbearable again.

For 2 or 3 months, I was doing so good and was so happy. I had energy. I was accomplishing a lot every day. I was asleep by 1:30/2:00 am and waking up at 9:30 am.

I felt human again!

And then, just when I was starting to ask myself if my sleep disorder had gone away… I started not sleeping again!

It’s so disappointing and so frustrating!

So, once again…

no matter how tired I am, I’m awake all night and not able to fall asleep until between 5:00 am and 9:30 am.

Sleep disorders are absolutely miserable, and they wreak havoc on your life, your family life, and even your friends lives.

But enough about that!

I was looking for something light and funny to read during sime those long nights.

I was searching for lists of happy/fun books for adults, but I was extremely disappointed by most of them.

While I was talking to Jason about it, he suggested the P.G. Wodehouse Jeeves series, and I thought, “Yes! Of course! By Jove!”. I love the Blandings Castle series on tv, so I should try the novels!

I went on Amazon and ordered a copy of the first novel in the Jeeves series, called My Man Jeeves.

Here’s the link:

My Man Jeeves

This small novel is laugh out loud funny!

As far as I can tell, it was originally published in May of 1919.

It is a small novel by P. G. Wodehouse, and consists of eight short stories.

The book begins by introducing you to Bertie Wooster and his all-knowing, magical valet, Jeeves.

Bertie, along with Jeeves, was sent to America on an errand by Bertie’s rather overpowering Aunt.

However, Bertie was not able to successfully complete the errand that his Aunt had set him, so he has volunteerily exiled himself to America for a bit while he waits for his Aunt to “cool down ” for a bit.

Part way through the novel, the stories introduce you to Reggie Pepper and his friends but brings you back again to Bertie and Jeeves for the last story.

I’m really not sure why the stories jump from Bertie to Reggie and then back to Bertie. I would guess that they were all printed separately at some time, but I’m not sure.

As far as I can tell, the next two novels in the series are The Inimitable Jeeves and Carry On, Jeeves. I have only about 2 1/2 stories left to read, so I’ve ordered the next two novels in the series.

My Man Jeeves is just silly, happy, delightful fun, and I hope you’ll give it a try!

Published by sharietomlinson

I’m Sharie. Owner of Butterfly Bunny Studio. Mixed Media Watercolor Artist, Bunny & Disney Lover, Gardener, Proud Mother to Josh, Bunny Momma to Princess Buttercup Bunny and Wifey to Jason. I am located in Columbia, Md but I’m a Harford County girl at heart! You can find me on Etsy at and on Instagram at @notjoshsmom Email me at

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: